The competition began 15 years ago and had as its clear purpose the support and encouragement of good book design in Canada.

The categories for submission were adopted from the American Institute of Graphic Arts competition: Prose, Poetry, Adult Picture and Photography Books, How-To, Cook-, Craft-, and Hobby Books, Text and Reference Books, Juvenile Books and Limited Editions. The judges for the competition and the Society's Design Awards Committee have recently decided to divide the prose category into separate categories for fiction and nonfiction, and in addition have decided to eliminate the How-To category and include these types of books into other categories.

In January of each year, the Society's Awards Committee sends approximately 400 letters to as many English- and French-language publishers and book designers in Canada as it can identify. These invite submission by the end of March of publications of the previous calendar year. In April, the judges convene for two days to review submissions and recommend awards. First. second, and third prizes and Honourable Mentions are available in each category listed above. Award certificates are presented in person at the Society's Annual General Meeting in May or sent by mail shortly thereafter. The winning books are donated to the Special Collections Division of the library at Simon Fraser University where they are

available to the entire university community, but are especially useful to the instructors and students in the publishing programme as examples of excellent Canadian book design. An article listing and describing the winners of the competition has been published in the Society's quarterly publication, *Amphora*, but last year we produced our first ever catalogue of the winning entries. This second catalogue represents the winners of the 1997 competition.

The judges have varied over the years but in latter years have primarily been Dr. Ronald Hagler of the School of Library, Archival and Information Studies at UBC, Roberto Dosil of Praxis, and Dennis Nagy of Studio Allsorts. Guest judges have been Jan Elsted of Barbarian Press, Peter Bartl of the Department of Art and Design at the University of Alberta, and Sylvia Smallman of the Emily Carr Institute of Art and Design.

The Alcuin Society takes great pride in sponsoring this competition celebrating excellence in Canadian book design.