The Alcuin Society

The Alcuin Society was founded in 1965 by G.A. Spencer for booklovers worldwide to promote a wider appreciation of what goes into finely-wrought books.

The name "Alcuin" was chosen to honour the memory of Alcuin of York (735 to 804 ad). Alcuin was a man who cared not only about books but handwriting too, which he rescued from the proliferation of bastard styles of the period. As, in effect, Charlemagne's "Minister of Culture", Alcuin selected the most pleasing and certainly the most legible script of his day, and gave it official blessing. Known as the "Caroline Minuscule", it ultimately led to our modern lower-case alphabet.

To further its aims, The Alcuin Society engages in a wide range of activities, many in collaboration with the Canadian Centre for Studies in Publishing at Simon Fraser University: lectures, workshops, exhibitions, and competitions. Annual design awards are made by a panel of judges for the best in Canadian book design. *Amphora*, the Society's quarterly journal, covers a wide range of topics related to the book arts: collecting, typography, type design, typesetting, calligraphy, paper-making, ornamentation, illustration, printing and binding.

Honorary past chairs

G.A. Spencer Bryan Peet Peter Quartermain Gwen Murray Allen Segal Ron McAmmond M.S. Batts Madeline Williams Neil Brearly Don Atkins Anne Taylor Richard Hopkins

Directors whose term of office expires in:

- 2000 Stuart Isto Ann Cowan Frances Woodward Sylvia Smallman
- 1999 Mary Conibear Richard Hopkins Jim Rainer Brenda Peterson
- 1998 John King Don Atkins Geoff Spencer Anne Terriss

Membership in the Society has the following categories

Individual \$ 40.00 per year Corporate \$ 40.00 per year Patron \$ 100.00 per year Student \$ 20.00 per year three years maximum