## ABOUT THE ALCUIN SOCIETY

The Alcuin Society was founded in Vancouver by Geoff Spencer in 1965 to promote a greater appreciation of well-made books among book lovers around the world. Other founding members were Sam Black, Bill Duthie, Sam Fogel, Bill McConnell, Dale Smith and Basil Stuart-Stubbs.

The name Alcuin was chosen to honour the memory of Alcuin of York (CE c. 735 to 804). Alcuin was a man who cared deeply about books and literacy. As a teacher of rhetoric, dialectic (logic) and astronomy in the Palace School in Aachen he instructed the royal children and even Charlemagne himself, who later appointed him Abbot of Marmoutier (Tours). Alcuin influenced the development of the most legible script of its day, known as the Carolingian minuscule, and its influence is still present in the modern lower case alphabet.

To further its aims, the Alcuin Society engages in a wide range of educational activities, many of them in collaboration with educational institutions, such as lectures, workshops, exhibitions, field visits and competitions.

Each year our Society gives the Alcuin Society Awards for Excellence in Book Design in Canada. *Amphora*, the Society's journal, covers a wide range of topics related to the book: the history and future of the book, publishing, bookselling, the book arts (typography, type design, calligraphy, papermaking, illustration, printing and binding), book collecting, reading and notable library collections.

## RECIPIENTS OF THE ROBERT R. REID MEDAL FOR LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT IN THE BOOK ARTS

The Robert R. Reid Medal for Lifetime Achievement in the Book Arts is an occasional award the Alcuin Society presents to individuals in recognition of significant lifetime achievement or extraordinary contributions to the book arts in Canada.

2007	Robert R. Reid
2009	Frank Newfeld
2010	Jim Rimmer
2011	Glenn Goluska
2012	Stan Bevington
2013	William Rueter, RCA, MGDC
2014	Jan & Crispin Elsted
2015	Rod McDonald

## Officers & Directors

CHAIR – Sarah Sutherland

VICE CHAIR – Richard Hopkins

TREASURER – Glenn Woodsworth

SECRETARY – Mary Luebbe

DIRECTORS – Lynn Copeland, Leah Gordon,

Peter Háy, John Maxwell, Gina Page,
Guy Robertson, Ralph Stanton

EX OFFICIO BOARD MEMBERS – Marlene Chan,

Heather Dean, Roberto Dosil, Chester Gryski,

Grant Hurley, Robin Mitchell-Cranfield,

Peter Mitham

The opinions expressed in Amphora are those of the contributors and do not necessarily reflect those of the editors or the Alcuin Society.



This and other images available at www.DevilsArtisan.ca.