

LTAS announces 2014-15 executive

By Ashley Van Dijk.

The Library Technician & Assistants Section (LTAS) met on Canadian Library Support Staff day, October 17th, 2014, for their annual general meeting. There were locations in both Surrey (for the Fraser Valley and Vancouver chapters) and Prince George, and individuals had the option of attending online. In total, 19 members attended.

Canadian Library Support Staff Day

The third Friday of October is recognized by the Canadian Library Association as a day to celebrate the work done by non-MLIS staff members in libraries and other information centres across Canada.

In this year's press release the president of CLA, Marie DeYoung wrote "All great libraries depend on their support staff to help to ensure that libraries provide excellent customer service to their communities. Support staff work behind the scenes and in the forefront to help libraries grow and provide excellent service to users. Their vital contribution to libraries across our country deserves national recognition."

LTAS AGM

Elections were held for the incoming 2014-15 LTAS Executive, and many new faces were welcomed to the board. The Chair shared a message of thanks to the outgoing executive for their dedication, and to the membership for their involvement with the association. It is through the efforts of the

membership that we are a robust group, and continue to grow.

Many thanks to SFU Surrey and UNBC for providing us the meeting space for our event.

Our special thanks go to Diane Thompson from Langara, and Christina Neigel and Kenneth Gariepy from UFV for spending the evening with us.

The 2014-15 LTAS Executive

- LTAS Chair: Ashley Van Dijk
- Fraser Valley Chapter co-chairs: Quinn Perry & Anita Thompson
- Prince George Chapter chair: Vaunda Dumont
- Vancouver Chapter co-chairs: Ashley Van Dijk & Alison Klein
- Recording Secretary: Sandra Cole
- Blog Coordinator: Megan Neilans
- Social Media Coordinator: Dawn Smaill
- Website Coordinator: John Park
- Marketing & Design Coordinator: Liza Capdecoume
- Careers Coordinator: Heather Duff
- Continuing Education Coordinator: John Park
- Langara Student Representative: Dane Praed
- UFV Student Representative: Angela Flemming
- Members at Large: Tamarack Hockin, Allan Webner, Stephen Karr, and Norm Berry

Ashley Van Dijk is LTAS Chair. Ashley works at SFU Burnaby in the Information & Instruction division.

http://bclabrowser.ca ISSN 1918-6118